GILAD ATZMON, LIVE IN AUSTIN, 18 SEPTEMBER (THURS)!!

Posted: September 14, 2014 in ADL, FREEDOM, Gaza, JDL, Jewish Identity politics, Mid-East, Palestine, Zionism
Tags: , , , , , , ,

unnamed (3)

Former Israeli, former IDF, former Jew, Gilad Atzmon starts his USA tour this week, in Houston and then comes to Austin!!  Because we’ve had problems (in Austin, of all places?) with the self-appointed Central Texas arm of the ADL (and the freak, Craig Berlin, says, JDL) who’s attempted to close-down one of Gilad’s shows, we are providing information about LOCATION on an individual basis.  I know it seems a bit nutty, but the Austin, “music scene”, is run by some unattractive characters who happen to also run the bipartisan-mafia, in Austin, and all over the USA.

If you would like to come hear Gilad speak and play jazz(!!), send a private email (here or in twitter) or contact:

LaBonteTrevor@gmail.com

As talented a musician as Trevor Labonte is, he’s essentially lost his ability to earn a living via his chosen profession, in Austin.  Who’s created his problem for Trevor?  It is the same (usual;  Berlin, aka, Protape) despicable excuse for a human as that’s harassed Gilad, as well as me, and anyone who points out the truth of Israel and Palestine and, “free speech”, in the USA!  I think it is extremely important that we, minimally, fight back by going to hear musicians and speakers we care about.  Do not allow these Israel-firsters and dual-citizens (anywhere in the USA) to tell us who can or cannot play music or make speeches, here!    We must also take a long look at the farce of our Palestine -Solidarity Committee, who seem to only do what the israel-first group allows.

No wonder Palestine gets nowhere when this terrible group of subverters is who they’ve got, “on their side”,  For me, it has been a huge let-down to see the truth of those supposed to be working for Gazans and for all Palestinians.  I wrote to the, “Interfaith Council”, who say they are on the side of Palestine, to ask them about hosting Gilad’s tour date in Austin.  This is what I received, in return:

Anne,
 
Gilad Atzmon has been disavowed by the Palestine Rights movement for his racism and anti-semitism.  I’ve attached a copy of Ali Abunimah’s article on him.
 
What group are you with that invited him? Who is “we”? 
 
Bernice Hecker, ICPR coordinator
Now, Gilad Atzmon is far from being a hater, of anyone, but the ICPR doesn’t seem to comprehend that they are using the exact same ploys AND words as the ADL!  What good is this group to the people of Palestine?  I find them imposssible and worse than our irritating ADL manipulators.  Someone needs to speak to them, and if they had open minds, I know Gilad Atzmon could explain the problems of allowing the wrong people to lead the group.
And I hope to see MANY of you, in Austin, Thursday night!
Comments
  1. Genie says:

    I just thought about a song that Gilad could play that’s country [in jazz, of course] because it deals with what he and Trevor are dealing with: The Dixie Chicks, were tarred and feathered for speaking up about war, in fact, George Bush even publicly condemned them], their careers were severely damaged for years… they eventually came out with this video as a counter to the attacks [people were burning their albums, their concerts were cancelled, etc.]

    Like

  2. Genie says:

    Here’s another pic of what a ‘Palestinian house negro’ looks like [I wonder who book-burner-Ali is cozing up to?]:

    Like

  3. Genie says:

    Still can’t reply, however, I can post a new comment. Weird.

    Nah, book-burner-Ali, aka ‘house negro’ as per Malcolm X’s definition, is just where he is supposed to be, he is the the Yankee version of the ‘house negro’ in the West Bank, Abbas.

    Hm, let’s see if this pic I found on the net will post as a photo:

    Like

    • annebeck58 says:

      Strange, because I can reply to you!
      I have set comments to give reply button up to 4 responses, deep, so maybe that’s it? I went back and checked every setting and cannot figure out why you wouldn’t be able to add responses. Could be wordpress has changed things- I know they did, and because my name and blog start with, “A”, I am always first for their changes (ugh.)

      Like

  4. Genie says:

    It would be terrific is someone would video-tape the event and post it.

    Free speech?–it was only this late June that Canada buried section 13, well, here it is visually:

    Liked by 1 person

    • annebeck58 says:

      It will be video’d and I will post as I get it (clips.) I may do some photos or some vid, if I can get some cards for my camera beforehand.
      Right now, I’m trying to get the fact that he’s playing in Austin out there so we can draw a decent crowd.

      Like

      • Genie says:

        Geez, I tried to reply on your website, however, the software would not let me type? What’s with that? So I am replying from my ‘notifications’.

        I know a person who lives in Nashville and they know everyone in the industry — radio, tv, etc., however, they are into country music — so, do you think that Gilad will play a country song in jazz format? Because if he does, I am fairly certain this person will get the word out — they follow my other blog: Palestine Rose.

        Just trying to help, I know it’s absurd to have to jump through hoops, but you know, I think it would be totally fun to hear a country song done jazz style!

        See, this person knows all the country singers, songwriters, producers, fans, etc., so I think if a country song was done it would generate a lot of interest, it is country music #1 in that area after all!

        Let me know soon so that I can let the person know if you think it would help.

        Liked by 1 person

        • annebeck58 says:

          That is really weird!
          I don’t know, but a lot of people seem to have problems entering info, all over online, this week.

          Uhm, this is Austin. It is hardly a country-western town.. There are clubs just for JAZZ, and of course, music is only about 1/3 of the presentation. A couple of hours are devoted to the Palestinian cause and against the Israel-firsters and dual-citizens who’re destroying ALL Western governments (and, by extension, countries.) Austin music-scene has been taken over by these freaks. So has Nashville (my baby bro left there for the very same reason.)

          Like

          • Genie says:

            I thought Austin is a country music town because of that show In used to watch on PBS called ‘Austin City Limits’ and they always used to have country music on it.

            Never having been to Texas I assumed that it is all a country music state! lol that like people thinking Canada has Mounties on horses for the police force!

            Anyway, this person I mentioned is totally into the Palestinian cause, that’s why they follow Palestine Rose and not this blog, [A Place Called Love] however, they are totally into country music buy love of it and by profession. I think if Gilad did a country music song that would get this person right on it — also, it would be a blast to have him do that [jazz style, of course]! I just love cross over music, i.e., David Garrett that best in the world violinist [in my opinion] does a lot of crossover and it’s fantastic!

            Besides, songbirds love all types of much — when it’s done well:

            Like

    • annebeck58 says:

      A letter decrying free-speech, in Houston: in regard to this rour by Gilad Atzmon!
      (whacko)

      Dear Bob,

      We met briefly at one of the bridge blogging events for Palestine a few weeks ago.

      I am one of the people who commented in support of Nick Cooper’s article in Free Press Houston because I know Gilad Atzmon’s history with Palestine solidarity groups and I am convinced that his coming to Houston will be a major blow to our advocacy efforts for Palestine and BDS.

      I speak only for myself. I do not represent any organization and I cannot speak for the Palestinian community in Houston, yet I am confident they reject antisemitism and would not wish to be associated with the likes of Gilad Atzmon. Almost every respectable public figure, journalist, academic and organizer in the palestine solidarity movement has distanced themselves from Atzmon for his antisemitic and racist views. Advocates for Palestine in Houston should, too.

      I was born and raised in Lebanon and have lived under the shadow of israel’s occupation and aggression. My family has fought and contributed to the resistance against israel and its Lebanese militias since the invasion of 1982 and I have lost family members, classmates and friends to israeli war crimes as recently as 2006. I have witnessed the carnage and destruction by israel firsthand and was forced to evacuate my home in the July 2006 War. I have worked on boycott campaigns in Lebanon and in the US and I want to work on this in Houston. I constantly remind myself to listen to others who are better-informed or experienced in this area. I follow the lead of Palestinians and their allies and I try my best to never speak over them or claim to know what’s best for them, because I think it’s quite arrogant of anyone to claim to speak for the Palestinians or decide who the best spokesperson is on their behalf.

      Unfortunately, this is exactly what you are doing. You have decided to bring in a racist, anti-semitic artist who’s only claim to fame is bashing jews and calling it anti-zionist activism. You are insisting on hosting this event despite being cautioned repeatedly by friends and allies about his views and how he would harm the movement. You are hosting this event despite having read (I hope) the list of hundreds of Palestinians and their allies who have rejected his views and have completely distanced themselves from him.

      Where is the palestinian/Arab community you claim to speak for? Do you think they believe he is a good spokesperson for them? No matter what your true intentions are, you are, by claiming to know what’s best for Palestinians, by inviting a racist anti-semite to speak about their cause, by ignoring the fact that he has been rejected time and again by every Palestinian individual/group, speaking over Palestinians. This is not solidarity by any stretch of the word and it does not even remotely resemble advocacy for Palestine.

      GIlad Atzmon does not support the Boycotts, Divestments and Sanctions (BDS) movement against israel, which was called for by Palestinian civil society in 2005 and is the main framework through which advoates for justice in Palestine can organize and achieve victories. If he does not support Palestinian initiatives like BDS, if he ignores Palestinian voices who have objected to his views, what makes him a good spokesperson? His rants against israel? His conflation of zionism and judaism?
      The Palestinian solidarity movement is a movement against racism and against any discrimination based on race, ethnicity and religion. We cannot have racists in our midst and antisemitism will not be tolerated.

      I urge you to cancel the event and stand with Palestinian community and their allies on this matter. We can work together on bringing better speakers and educators to inform the public and help us get mobilized on our pro-Palestine efforts in Houston.

      (What IS the pro-Palestine connunity doing? This is stupid.)

      Like

      • Genie says:

        Absurd.

        There is not even one tiny bit of anti-semitism in Gilad’s book; all the people who roar about Gilad being allegedly ‘anti-semitic’ have usually never read the entire book.

        That book-burner, Ali Albuminah, or however his name is spelled, is a sell-out ‘House Palestinian’ or as Malcolm X used to say: ‘House Negro’. But then, had book-burner-Ali, not made such a fuss about Gilad’s book being ‘anti-semitic, it most likely would not have the huge success that it has had.

        Once again, I could not reply on your site [the software would not let me type in the box], both this one and the last one a few minutes ago — had to use ‘notifications’ to reply from.

        Liked by 1 person

        • annebeck58 says:

          Abuminah is destroying all kinds of good will toward Palestinians. He doesn’t even seem to realize what a door-stop he has become. But, it has everything to do with whom he lays down with..
          Abuminah should be removed from his place because he is very bad for, “the movement”.

          Like

        • annebeck58 says:

          BTW: try cleaning your browser. Turn off your computer, and then back on. I’m having no problem, today, and don’t know anyone else is (thusfar.)

          Like

        • annebeck58 says:

          There is a bit of rock-a-billy at ACL, but it really is mostly rock & roll (though not so much hard rock.) I actually cannot think of one country musician I’ve heard on ACL (or at ACL.) But, country music is for dancing, as far as I’m concerned.
          Austin is called, “the Third Coast”, mainly based on the amount of music, here. I find it very sad that idiots like Craig Berlin (who tried to close the show last time) are allowed to have ANY say in what clubs do in Austin. Who the hell does he think he is?
          I think people should stop using Protape (Berlin’s bizzness) because he works so hard to ensure certain people are NOT given gigs in Austin. That is wrong, no matter who involves himself in it!

          Like

          • Genie says:

            It goes with the territory of speaking up about zionist atrocities and Jewish Identity Politics, so I am sure none of this is surprising to Gilad. In fact, he most likely expects it — he knows what the freaks do when someone speaks up.

            I think crossover music is fascinating and, it does not take away from the original genre if done well.
            As I said, David Garrett, is a master at doing this, here is one small example [once the song is over, the rest is a waste of time — they do that so people can’t download the song]:

            Like

            • annebeck58 says:

              Well, we had it (almost) happen, last time GIlad was in Austin. I wasn’t sure if it was the venue, or what, so tried to get him set-up for this week. And I ran across a lot of hatred, particularly from the (supposed) Palestine-Solidarity folk (they know not what they do…, I am sure.)
              I cannot believe they go along with Ali Abuminah (who tried to get me to disavow GIlad, too!) They have NO IDEA what GIlad says or has written, but instead, do what Abuminah says to do. I think the whole thing is disgusting.
              No wonder PSC get nowhere. No wonder Gaza gets NO HELP from the West. Ali Abuminah is in place to ensure this.

              Like

  5. annebeck58 says:

    Reblogged this on The Ugly Truth and commented:

    The terrible politics behind Austin’s music scene and the Central Texas Palestine, “Solidarity”, Committee and Interfaith Council. This is why musicians, like Trevor LaBonte, have been prevented from playing in Austin. It has also made signing up Gilad Atzmon for a gig nearly impossible.
    And it is time the people use our FREE SPEECH and push for speakers and musicians we want to hear.

    Like

  6. annebeck58 says:

    Not sure if wp will post the whole video list (from performance, down at Brave New Books) or if only the best video will post, but here it is:

    Like

Tell us what you really think- no moderation necessary!

